الاستخدام غير المستدام للفيديو عبر الإنترنت

الاباحية يضر البيئة

الاباحية يضر البيئة. تستحوذ مشاهدة المواد الإباحية في جميع أنحاء العالم على 0.2٪ من جميع انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة. قد لا يبدو هذا كثيرًا ، لكن هذا يساوي 80 مليون طن من ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، أو بقدر ما تنبعث منه جميع الأسر في فرنسا.

في شهر يوليو ، نشر فريق 2019 بقيادة ماكسيم إفوي هيس في مشروع The Shift في باريس أول عمل رئيسي يبحث في استهلاك الطاقة للفيديو عبر الإنترنت. قاموا بدراسة حالة مفصلة للكهرباء المستهلكة في توصيل مقاطع الفيديو الإباحية للمستهلكين. ساعدت مؤسسة المكافآت على تحقيق ذلك هذه القصة إلى العالم في يوليو 2019.

لذا ، ماذا وجدوا؟

تمثل مقاطع الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت 27٪ من مقاطع الفيديو عبر الإنترنت ، و 16٪ من إجمالي تدفق البيانات و 5٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري بسبب التكنولوجيا الرقمية.

الإباحية تضر بالبيئة The Shift Project

تعتبر مشاهدة المواد الإباحية مساهماً كبيراً وقابلاً للقياس في تغير المناخ. حتى الآن يمكننا التفكير بعناية أكبر في السؤال .... "هل مشاهدة الأفلام تستحق ذلك؟"

يلخص هذا الفيديو إجابة The Shift Project ... هذا الفيديو ، الذي ينبعث غازات الدفيئة في حد ذاته (بمعدل أقل بقليل من 10 غرامات من CO2 لكل عرض) ، مخصص للعامة. يهدف إلى جعل التأثير البيئي للتكنولوجيا الرقمية مرئيًا ، في حين أنه غير مرئي يوميًا. يبرز الفيديو أيضًا عواقب الاستخدام الرقمي على تغير المناخ ونضوب الموارد.

حالة عملية: المواد الإباحية

أولاً ، دعونا نلقي نظرة على عرض مشروع The Shift للصورة الكبيرة.

تمثل مشاهدة الفيديو عبر الإنترنت 60٪ من حركة البيانات في العالم. أثناء 2018 ، أنتجت أكثر من 300 Mt من CO2. على سبيل المثال ، هذه بصمة كربون مماثلة للانبعاثات السنوية لإسبانيا.

المواد الإباحية 27٪
يتدفق توزيع البيانات عبر الإنترنت بين الاستخدامات المختلفة في 2018 في العالم
(المصدر The Shift Project 2019)

تعد قضية التأثير الاجتماعي للمواد الإباحية مظهرًا مهمًا للتوتر الذي يبلور النقاش الدائر حول مدى أهمية الاستخدام على نطاق المجتمع. النقاش الذي ظل موضوعياً بالنسبة لأصحاب المصلحة المختلفين لعدة عقود ، كانت المواد الإباحية موضوع العديد من الدراسات الاجتماعية التي تهدف إلى فهم آثارها. أحدثت طفرة المنصات الجديدة التي تبث محتوى إباحيًا (Gauthier، 2018) ثورة في استهلاك المواد الإباحية من خلال الوصول إليها بواسطة أي هاتف ذكي ، بما في ذلك من قبل الأطفال والمراهقين ، وهو بسيط ومجاني.

كان نهجنا هو جمع وجهات نظر الخبراء حول الآثار الاجتماعية المحددة لمحتويات الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت. من الواضح أن الهدف لا يتمثل في التظاهر في بضع فقرات بتعقيد النقاش الدائر منذ عدة سنوات. وبدلاً من ذلك ، يستلزم تحديد الأسئلة التي أثارها تقييم مدى ملاءمة الاستخدامات المختلفة لمعرفة ما إذا كانت المواد الإباحية تلحق الضرر بالبيئة.

لا تتعلق الملاحظات التي تم إبرازها هنا بتقديم دليل على ما إذا كان هناك تأثير ضار موجود أم لا. ومع ذلك ، فهي تسمح بالتفكير في وسائل صنع القرار السياسي التي تأخذ في الاعتبار المخاطر المرتبطة بهذه الآثار الضارة.

الآثار المجتمعية للبث واستقبال محتوى الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت

واحدة من المشاكل المذكورة فيما يتعلق بتأثير استهلاك المواد الإباحية على المستوى المجتمعي هي ظاهرة تغيير المعايير. وقد لوحظ وجود اتجاه نحو زيادة العنف في المحتوى الذي يتم عرضه. هذا يؤدي إلى تأثيرات ضارة على النشاط الجنسي للفرد وتصوراتهم للعلاقات الجسدية ، بما في ذلك في حالة الاستهلاك العرضي (Solano ، 2018 ، Muracciole ، 2019). يتم تحفيز هذه الظاهرة من خلال توفر جميع أنواع المحتوى الإباحي - بما في ذلك المحتوى الأكثر عنفا - والتي يسهلها ظهور منصات فيديو مخصصة عبر الإنترنت (Gauthier، 2018).

شعار مشروع التحول

إن تأثير طريقة البث من النوع Tube لمحتوى الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت يمكن أن يشكل مشكلة على نطاق مجتمعنا. يتم نشر المحتوى على أساس التصنيف "المسمى" للمستهلك (دور الكلمات الرئيسية) ، بناءً على النموذج المستخدم لتصنيف المنتجات الثقافية لعامة الناس. ومع ذلك ، لا يمكن إجراء هذا التصنيف إلا من خلال توحيد المحتوى نفسه ، وبالتالي ، نظرًا لطبيعة المنتج الإباحي ، عبر توحيد الشخصيات والمواقف المقدمة ، نظرًا لأن كل فئة يجب أن تبنى وفقًا لخصائص يمكن التعرف عليها بسهولة. فيما يتعلق بتوحيد تمثيل الأشخاص والعلاقات الإنسانية ، يشير الخبراء في هذا الموضوع إلى أنه يثير مسألة الدور الذي يلعبه المحتوى الإباحي في رسم الرسوم الكاريكاتورية المجتمعية ومظاهر عدم المساواة في التمثيل (Muracciole، 2019).

تسليم الفيديو يعني أن جميع الأفلام الضارة بالبيئة

لتقدير التأثير المجتمعي لاستخدام الفيديو الإباحية ، من الضروري إدراج جميع أنواع المحتوى في تفكيرنا ، وخاصة تلك التي تدعي أنها ملتزمة وبديلة (المواد الإباحية التي تدعي أنها نسوية ، وتعزز التنوع ، والمحتوى الذي لا يعرض أي تمثيل ضار بـ الزوجين ، وما إلى ذلك). إن مسألة التقييم الدقيق للآثار المفيدة لهذه الأساليب البديلة تقع خارج نطاق هذا التقرير عند تحديد ما إذا كانت المواد الإباحية تلحق الضرر بالبيئة.

بدلاً من ذلك ، نؤكد على الحاجة إلى مراعاة تأثير موجهات البث على ديناميكيات التغييرات في الاستخدامات: تعد أحجام المحتويات التي توفرها منصات الفيديو عبر الإنترنت كبيرة بما يكفي للتأثير على اتجاهات تطور الاستخدامات على نطاق واسع. لذلك من الضروري فهم الدور الذي تلعبه بنية المنصات وتحديد النقطة التي يعطي عندها النموذج السائد - المحتوى الصناعي الموحد - مجالاً لمحتويات بديلة في الظهور (Vaton، 2018).

الآثار المجتمعية لإنتاج محتوى الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت

كما هو الحال مع جميع استخدامات الفيديو ، ترتبط مرحلة إنتاج المحتوى بمرحلة البث والاستقبال. على سبيل المثال ، تؤثر الملاحظات التي تم إجراؤها على تغيير القاعدة المتعلقة بعنف المحتويات التي يتم عرضها بالضرورة على إنتاج المحتويات. تؤدي زيادة العنف في الممارسات التي يشاهدها المستهلك إلى زيادة العنف في الممارسات أثناء تصوير مقاطع الفيديو والأفلام. لذلك فإن المشاركين في المناقشة (Muracciole، 2019) يطرحون مسألة العنف المسموح به في عمليات الإنتاج هذه الخاضعة لإطار قانوني.

تسمح منصات البث الجديدة بإنتاج ومشاركة المحتوى من قبل أفراد عاديين في أماكن خاصة. يشارك هذا الاحتمال الجديد إلى حد ما في تنويع العروض من خلال الخروج عن الإطار الموحد لصناعة المواد الإباحية. ومع ذلك ، من الضروري التشكيك في إمكانية قيام الأفراد العاديين بإعادة تخصيص المحتويات والممثليات داخل سوق تهيمن عليها إلى حد كبير المجموعات الصناعية القائمة.

بناء استخدامات إباحية

لاحظت كاثرين سولانو ، أخصائية في علم الجنس "لعدة سنوات ، أنه بالنسبة لنسبة كبيرة من الرجال ، فإن العادة السرية لا يمكن فصلها عن المواد الإباحية" (Solano ، 2018). لذا فإن استخدام المواد الإباحية وبالتالي تصور مقاطع الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت يرتبط الآن مع استخدام تحكمه آليات إدراكية تلقائية للغاية ، مما يسمح بتحويل المنتجات المقترحة إلى نقود فعالة. اليوم ، تعتمد التنمية الاقتصادية لمشاهدة مقاطع الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت على مزيج من الإدراك الناتج عن ممارسات التسويق في القطاع: ارتباط استخدام المواد الإباحية مع الفعل المادي للجنس (Roussilhe، 2019).

تأثير الزناد

إن رؤية جسم عارٍ ينشط رد الفعل التلقائي الأولي في الدماغ والذي يثير الاهتمام المرتبط بتفاعل منعكس لإمكانية الإنجاب (Solano، 2018). نظرًا لأننا نعرف أن آلياتنا المعرفية تستضيف تحيزًا ، يُطلق عليه "تأثير المشغِّل" ، والذي يحفز الجمود في عملية تفكيرنا 30 (Marcinkowski، 2019) ، يمكننا أن نفهم أن إضفاء الطابع الجنسي على المحتوى للجمهور العام يقدم استخدامات إباحية ضمن آلية أوسع نطاقًا التأثير: يتعرض لمحتويات جنسية لعامة الناس (الإعلان ، مقاطع الفيديو ، إلخ) ، ويجد الأفراد أنفسهم في حالة من التماس متكرر لمناطق المخ المرتبطة بالرغبة الجسدية. سيحفز هذا بالتالي الاستخدام الذي يستخدمه الفرد في نفس النوع من التماس ، بما في ذلك الاستخدامات الإباحية (Roussilhe ، 2019) التي يتم تنفيذها بشكل تفضيلي عبر منصات البث عبر الإنترنت ، موضوع هذا التحليل.

لذلك ، نرى مرة أخرى أن هذه الاستخدامات مبنية وفقًا لمكون جماعي لا يمكن تجاهله: بنية النظام التي تنقل المعلومات على نطاق واسع تشارك بالكامل في تعريف استخدامات مقاطع الفيديو الإباحية على الإنترنت. الآن لدينا طريقة لإظهار أن الإباحية تضر بالبيئة.

المراجع

غوتييه ، UG (2018). L'ère du porno. Les Hors-Série de L'OBS. ن ° 100. نوفمبر 2018.

Marcinkowski، J. (2019، 20 mars). Caractérisation ، construction et réglementation possible des usages vidéo. (M. Efoui-Hess ، الباحث)

Muracciole، M. (2019، 22 mars). La pornographie dans les usages vidéo en ligne. (M. Efoui-Hess ، الباحث)

روسيله ، ج. (2019). Caractérisation ، construction et réglementation possible des usages vidéo. (M. Efoui-Hess ، الباحث)

سولانو ، سي. (2018 ، نوفمبر). Malades du الاباحية. L'ère du porno. Les Hors-Série de L'OBS. n ° 100، pp. 90-93.

فاتون ، م. (2018 ، نوفمبر). Entretien avec Ovidie. L'ère du porno. Les Hors-Série de L'OBS. n ° 100، pp. 76-79.

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

The unsustainable use of online video

Porn harms the environment

Porn harms the environment. World-wide watching pornography accounts for 0.2% of all green house gas emissions. That may not sound like much, but this is equal to 80 million tons of carbon dioxide, or as much as emitted by all the households in France.

In July 2019 a team lead by Maxime Efoui-Hess at The Shift Project in Paris published the first major work looking at the energy consumption of online video. They made a detailed case study of the electricity consumed in delivering pornographic videos to consumers. The Reward Foundation helped to bring this story to the world in July 2019.

So, what did they find?

Online pornographic videos represent 27% of the online videos, 16% of the total flow of data and 5% of total Greenhouse gas emissions due to digital technology.

Porn harms the environment The Shift Project

Watching pornography is a significant, measurable contributor to climate change. So now we can think more carefully about the question…. “Is watching porn worth it?”

This video summarises The Shift Project’s answer…This video, which itself emits greenhouse gases (an average of a little less than 10 grams of CO2 per viewing), is intended for the general public. It aims at making the environmental impact of digital technology visible, whereas it is invisible on a daily basis. The video also highlights the consequences of digital use on climate change and resource depletion.

Practical case: pornography

First, let’s look at The Shift project’s view of the big picture.

Online video viewing represents 60% of the world’s data traffic. During 2018 it generated more than 300 Mt of CO2. For example, that is a carbon footprint comparable to the annual emissions of Spain.

pornography 27%
Distribution of online data flows between different uses in 2018 in the world
(Source The Shift Project 2019)

The issue of the societal impact of pornography is a crucial manifestation of the tension that crystallizes the debate on the pertinence of a use at the scale of a society. A debate that has remained topical for the different stakeholders for several decades, pornography has been the subject of numerous sociological studies aimed at understanding its effects. The boom of new platforms broadcasting pornographic content (Gauthier, 2018), have revolutionized the consumption of pornography with access by any smartphone, including by children and adolescents, simple and free.

Our approach was to bring together the views of experts on the societal effects identified of online pornographic video contents. Obviously, the objective is not to pretend to sum up in a few paragraphs the complexity of a debate lasting several years. Rather it entails establishing the questions raised by the evaluation of the pertinence of different uses to see if porn harms the environment.

The observations highlighted here do not pertain to providing proof of whether a nefarious effect is present or not. However, they permit reflection on the means of political decision-making that takes into account the risks linked to these prejudicial effects.

Societal implications of the broadcasting and reception of online pornographic video content

One of the problems mentioned regarding the effects of consuming pornography at the societal level is the phenomenon of shifting norms. A trend has been observed towards increased violence in the content viewed. This leads to harmful effects on the individual’s sexuality and their perceptions of physical relationships, including in the case of occasional consumption (Solano, 2018; Muracciole, 2019). This phenomenon is catalyzed by the availability of all types of pornographic content – including the most violent – facilitated by the advent of dedicated online video platforms (Gauthier, 2018).

The Shift Project logo

The impact that the Tube type broadcasting method of online pornographic video content can have constitutes an issue on the scale of our society. The content is diffused on the basis of a categorization “labelled” for the consumer (the role of keywords), based on the model used to categorize cultural products for the general public. However, this categorization is possible only through the standardization of the content itself and thus, because of the nature of the pornographic product, via the standardization of the characters and situations presented, since each category must be built according to easily identifiable specificities. Regarding the standardization of representations of people and human relationships, experts on the subject point out that it raises the question of the role played by pornographic content in imprinting societal caricatures and manifestations of inequality on representations (Muracciole, 2019).

Video delivery means all porn harms the environment

To appreciate the societal impact of pornographic video use, it is necessary to include all the types of content in our reflection, notably those that claim to be committed and alternative (pornography claiming to be feminist, promoting diversity, content not showing any representation prejudicial to the couple, etc.). The question of the precise evaluation of the beneficial effects of these alternative approaches falls outside the scope of this report when determining if porn harms the environment.

Rather, we emphasize the need to take into account the effect of broadcasting vectors on the dynamics driving changes in uses: the volumes of contents made available by online video platforms are big enough to influence trends in the evolution of uses on large scale. It is therefore necessary to understand the role played by the architecture of platforms and to determine the point at which the dominant model – standardized industrial content – gives room for alternative contents to emerge (Vaton, 2018).

Societal implications of the production of online pornographic video content

As with all video uses, the content production phase is linked to those of broadcasting and reception. For example, the observations made on the shifting of the norm regarding the violence of the contents viewed necessarily impact the production of contents. The increase in the violence of the practices watched by the consumer leads to increased violence in practices during the shooting of the videos and films. The question of the violence tolerated in these production processes subject to a legal framework is therefore raised by the participants in the debate (Muracciole, 2019).

The new broadcasting platforms permit the production and sharing of content by private individuals in private premises. This new possibility participates to a certain extent in the diversification of representations by going outside the standardized framework of the pornography industry. It is nonetheless essential to question the possibility of a genuine re-appropriation by private individuals of the contents and representations within a market largely dominated by the industrial groups in place.

The construction of pornographic uses

Catherine Solano, a sexologist, has observed “for several years, that for a large proportion of men, masturbation is inseparable from pornography” (Solano, 2018). The use of pornography and thus the visualization of online pornographic videos are therefore now associated with a utilization governed by highly automatic cognitive mechanisms, which allows the efficient monetization of the products proposed. Today, the economic development of viewing online pornographic videos is therefore built on a cognitive amalgam resulting from the marketing practices of the sector: the association of using pornography with the physical act of sex (Roussilhe, 2019).

Trigger effect

Seeing a naked body activates an initial automatic reaction in the brain which arouses interest linked to the evolutive reflex of the possibility of procreation (Solano, 2018). Since we know that our cognitive mechanisms host a bias, called “trigger effect”, that induces inertia in our thought process30 (Marcinkowski, 2019), we can understand that the sexualization of content for the general public introduces pornographic uses within a wider mechanism of influence: exposed to sexualized contents for the general public (advertising, video clips, etc.), individuals find themselves in a state of recurrent solicitation of the areas of their brain linked to physical desire. This will therefore catalyze the use made by the individual within the same type of solicitation, including pornographic uses (Roussilhe, 2019) that are performed preferentially via online broadcasting platforms, the subject of this analysis.

So, we see, once again, that these uses are built according to a collective component that can’t be ignored: the architecture of the system that transmits information on a large scale fully participates in the definition of the uses of online pornographic videos. Now we have a way to show that porn harms the environment.

References

Gauthier, U. G. (2018). L’ère du porno. Les Hors-Série de L’OBS. n°100. Nov. 2018.

Marcinkowski, J. (2019, 20 mars). Caractérisation, construction et réglementation possible des usages vidéo. (M. Efoui-Hess, Intervieweur)

Muracciole, M. (2019, 22 mars). La pornographie dans les usages vidéo en ligne. (M. Efoui-Hess, Intervieweur)

Roussilhe, G. (2019). Caractérisation, construction et réglementation possible des usages vidéo. (M. Efoui-Hess, Intervieweur)

Solano, C. (2018, Nov.). Malades du porno. L’ère du porno. Les Hors-Série de L’OBS. n°100, pp. 90-93.

Vaton, M. (2018, Nov.). Entretien avec Ovidie. L’ère du porno. Les Hors-Série de L’OBS. n°100, pp. 76-79.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email