كارتون الصبي يراقب الاباحية

التحقق من العمر قريبا؟

adminaccount888 آخر الأخبار

قد تقترب إمكانية قيام حكومة المملكة المتحدة بسن عملية التحقق من العمر قريبًا للإباحية. تسعى بعض الشركات التي كانت تأمل في توفير نظام التحقق من العمر إلى مراجعة قضائية. هذا يمكن أن يجبر الحكومة على التصرف.

يتناول زميلنا جون كار هذه القصة في مدونة Desiderata الأخيرة.

الحركة على التحقق من العمر؟

R ضد وزير الخارجية لوزارة الداخلية ، اتحاد فرق إطفاء الحرائق السابقين هي قضية مشهورة منذ عام 1995. وقد قررت المحكمة العليا (التي كانت تسمى آنذاك اللجنة القضائية لمجلس اللوردات). فقدت الحكومة.

وبموجب قانون برلماني لعام 1988 ، كان المقصود من الحكومة طرح خطة جديدة للتعويض عن الإصابات الجنائية. كان على وجه التحديد فيما يتعلق رجال الاطفاء. الطريقة التي تُركت بها الأمور بموجب القانون ، كان من المقرر طرح الخطة "في مثل هذا اليوم الذي يجوز فيه لوزير الخارجية تعيين صك قانوني".

قصة قصيرة طويلة ، أعلنت الحكومة في وقت لاحق أنها لن تعلن عن موعد. في الواقع بقرار إداري أنهم أحبطوا إرادة البرلمان المعبر عنها بوضوح.

فيما يلي المقتطفات الرئيسية من قرار المحكمة (العفو عن القانون الإنجليزي القديم)

"قد يكون مفاجأة للرجل في كلافام الجامع أن الأحكام التشريعية في قانون البرلمان ، الذي أقر كل من مجلس النواب وتلقى الموافقة الملكية ، يمكن أن يوضع جانبا بهذه الطريقة من قبل عضو في السلطة التنفيذية."

وحتى أكثر دلالة

" صحيح أن [الأقسام] ليس لديها قوة قانونية. لكن هذا لا يعني أنهم مكتوبون في الماء. أنها تحتوي على بيان عن نية البرلمان ، على الرغم من أنها لا تخلق أي حقوق قابلة للتنفيذ. عند تناول الأمر بهذه الطريقة ، أود أن أقرأ المادة 171 على أنها تنص على أن المواد من 108 إلى 117 يجب أن تدخل حيز التنفيذ عندما يختار وزير الداخلية ، وقد لا تدخل حيز التنفيذ إذا اختار ذلك. وبعبارة أخرى ، يمنح القسم 171 سلطة تحديد متى ، ولكن ليس فيما إذا كان ".

هل هذا يرن أي أجراس؟

أنه ينبغي. إنه قريب جدًا مما حدث مع الأحكام القانونية المتعلقة بالتحقق من العمر لمواقع المواد الإباحية التجارية. هذه هي المنصوص عليها في الجزء 3 من قانون الاقتصاد الرقمي 2017.

أنفقت العديد من الشركات أموالاً كثيرة تستعد لبدء السياسة الجديدة. كل شيء كان في مكانه. ثم ، من اللون الأزرق ، إذا جاز التعبير ، في 16 أكتوبر 2019 ، الحكومة أعلن موقف. ليس التخلي على هذا النحو ، ولكن في الواقع ، والتأجيل لأجل غير مسمى.

قلي الأسماك المختلفة

في الوقت الذي أصدرت فيه الحكومة إعلانها كان لديها هدف سياسي مهيمن. لتأمين الانتخابات العامة.

بسبب الحساب البرلماني آنذاك فإن توقيت مثل هذه الانتخابات لم يكن في هديتهم. في بعض الأوساط ، فإن الشك في ذلك هو أن شخصًا في رقم 10 بدأ يتلاشى. لنفترض أنهم نجحوا فجأة في الحصول على موافقة البرلمان على إجراء انتخابات (كما فعلوا) والنظام الجديد للتحقق من العمر لمواقع الاباحية التجارية التي بدأت قبل أو حتى أثناء الحملة الانتخابية (وهو ما قد يكون فعله)؟

"بوريس القاتل الاباحية"

يمكن "بوريس القاتل الاباحية" أزاح "احصل على خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي" كموضوع رئيسي للانتخابات؟ من المستبعد جدا. على الرغم من ذلك ، فربما يكون ملايين الرجال غاضبين من أن إمداداتهم الإباحية قد انقطعت أو انقطعت أثناء إتمام عملية التحقق من العمر؟ ماذا لو كان هناك خلل غير مرئي ظهر؟ من سيتلقى اللوم؟ هل يمكن أن يؤثر سلبا على الأصوات في بعض المقاعد الهامشية؟ يمكن أن تكون السياسة عملاً غامضًا في بعض الأحيان (ولكن لا تخبر أحداً قلت ذلك).

هل قررت الروح الحزينة في قيادة حزب المحافظين أنه من الأفضل عدم المخاطرة. فقط اسحبه. ينطق بضع كلمات دافئة حول عدم إزعاج السياسة. قل شيئًا ما حول اختتامه بمبادرة أوسع وأكثر طموحًا (وهو ما فعلوه).

هذه مجرد نظرية تقوم بالجولات. ولكن ربما نكون على وشك معرفة ما إذا كان هناك أي مادة لها. الاتحاد التجاري الذي يمثل بعض الشركات التي أنفقت الملايين في الاستعداد تسعى لمراجعة قضائية. وهناك عدد من الشركات الفردية يقاضي أيضا للحصول على تعويض. من المفهوم أن مطالباتهم تصل إلى حوالي 3 ملايين جنيه إسترليني. أضف إلى ذلك المبالغ التي يعتقد أنها أنفقتها الجهة المنظمة المرشحة (BBFC) والحكومة نفسها وستحصل على حوالي 5 ملايين جنيه إسترليني.

إذا كان على الحكومة أن تدفع ما يصل ، فهناك أموال كثيرة تنفقها على حالة من الذعر الهزيل وغير المبدئي.

تمت مناقشة المراجعة القضائية في هذه المقالة في التليجراف.

تبدأ شركات التقنية في اتخاذ إجراءات قانونية لإجبار الحكومة على فرض حظر على الإباحية دون سن 18 عامًا

أطلقت شركات التكنولوجيا إجراءات قانونية لإجبار الحكومة على فرض حظر سن الإباحية. هذه خطوة تدعمها الجمعيات الخيرية للأطفال.

قدمت أربع شركات تحقق من السن مراجعة قضائية أمام المحكمة العليا يوم الخميس للطعن في قرار وزير الثقافة بتجميد خطة فرض اختبارات العمر على جميع المواقع الإباحية التي يتم عرضها في المملكة المتحدة.

تفهم Telegraph أن الشركات تدعي أن القرار كان "إساءة استخدام للسلطة" حيث تمت الموافقة على هذه الخطوة من قبل البرلمان. كما أنهم يطالبون بتعويضات ، يُفهم أنها تقع في منطقة تبلغ 3 ملايين جنيه إسترليني ، بسبب الخسائر المستمرة في تقنية التحقق من تقدم العمر.

تم إقرار مخطط التحقق من العمر في البداية كجزء من قانون الاقتصاد الرقمي في ديسمبر 2018 ، وفرض على جميع المواقع للبالغين أن يخضعوا للفحوصات العمرية التي تثبت أن المستخدمين في المملكة المتحدة تجاوزوا 18 عامًا.

في أكتوبر / تشرين الأول ، أعلنت وزيرة الثقافة البارونة نيكي مورغان أنها ستعلق خطة فحص العمر وستتطلع إلى دمجها في التشريعات المقترحة بشأن الأضرار عبر الإنترنت والتي تهدف إلى إنشاء هيئة تنظيمية جديدة على الإنترنت. قالت الحكومة إنها تهدف إلى نشر مشروع قانون هذا العام ، لكن قد يستغرق الأمر ما بين سنتين إلى ثلاث سنوات قبل أن تعمل الهيئة التنظيمية.

في ذلك الوقت قالت وزيرة الخارجية إنها تريد النظر في إغلاق ثغرة تسمح للقُصَّر بمشاهدة المواد الإباحية على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي.

الشركات الراغبة في التحقق من العمر قريبًا

تجادل الشركات الأربع التي تقف وراء المراجعة القضائية - AgeChecked Ltd و VeriMe و AVYourself و AVSecure - في أن وزير الخارجية كان يتمتع فقط بالسلطة لاختيار متى دخل المخطط حيز التنفيذ ، وليس إلغاءه بالشكل الذي أقره البرلمان.

تم دعم الإجراء القانوني من قبل ائتلاف الجمعيات الخيرية للأطفال من أجل أمان الإنترنت (CCCIS) ، الذي يمثل منظمات الأطفال في المملكة المتحدة.

وقال جون كار أوبي ، سكرتير CCCIS: "إذا كانت المراجعة القضائية هي الطريقة الوحيدة للحصول على حماية أفضل للأطفال ، فنحن جميعًا نؤيد ذلك ، لكن لم يكن يجب أن يتحقق ذلك أبدًا. كل شيء كان في مكانه وعلى استعداد للذهاب. الأطفال الذين يمكن أن يكونوا محميين من الصور الجنسية المروعة حقًا يتعرضون لهم. لا يمكن أن يكون على حق."

بعد الإجراء ، قال متحدث باسم وزارة الرقمية والثقافة والإعلام والرياضة: "لا يمكننا التعليق على أي إجراءات قانونية ضد الإدارة. تلتزم الحكومة بضمان حماية الأطفال من الوصول إلى المحتوى الضار عبر الإنترنت. "

الأضرار المطالب بها

تطالب شركات AV بتعويضات كجزء من الطعن القانوني قائلة إنها غرقت الملايين في تطوير تقنية التحقق المطابقة للمعايير التفصيلية التي وضعتها الجهة الرقابية التي اختارتها الحكومة ، وهي الهيئة البريطانية لتصنيف الأفلام.

قال ستيوارت لولي ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة AVSecure ، وهو رائد أعمال بريطاني في مجال التكنولوجيا حقق ثروته في طفرة الدوت كوم ، إنه "فقد الملايين" شخصياً في ابتكار التكنولوجيا.

وقال إن الشركة ، التي تقف وراء تطبيقات الرقابة الأبوية الأخرى مثل Ageblock ، تستعد لما يصل إلى 10 ملايين شخص للاشتراك في الخدمة في اليوم الأول.

قال السيد لولي لـ Telegraph: "لقد حان الوقت [للحكومة] لفعل الشيء الصحيح. سنقوم عاجلاً بإصدار تاريخ بدء جديد وسوف أتخلى عن مطالباتي واستمر في ذلك.

"إننا نفقد ملايين الجنيهات ، وأنا شخصياً ملايين ، ولدينا أناس لم يعد لديهم وظائف نتيجة لهذا".

الهروب من وباء الإباحية

يتم توضيح أهمية التحقق من العمر في مقطع فيديو حديث متاح من ageverification.co.uk موقع الكتروني.

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

حصة هذه المادة

Cartoon of boy watching porn

Age verification soon?

adminaccount888 Latest News

The possibility of the UK Government enacting age verification soon for porn may be getting closer. Some of the companies who hoped to provide the age verification system are seeking a judicial review. This could force the Government to act.

Our colleague John Carr takes up this story in his recent Desiderata blog.

Movement on age verification?

R v Secretary of State for the Home Department, ex Parte Fire Brigades Union is  a famous case from 1995. It was decided by  our Supreme Court (then still called the Judicial Committee of the House of Lords). The Government lost.

Under an Act of Parliament of 1988 the Government was meant to bring forward a new criminal injuries compensation scheme. It was specifically in respect of fire fighters. The way things were left under the Act the scheme was to be introduced on “such day as the Secretary of State may by statutory instrument appoint”. 

Long story short, the Government subsequently announced that it was not going to announce a date. In effect by an administrative decision they had frustrated the clearly expressed will of Parliament.

Key excerpts from the court’s decision (pardon the archaic English legalese) are as follows

“It might come as a surprise to the man on the Clapham omnibus that legislative provisions in an Act of Parliament, which have passed both House of Parliament and received Royal Assent, can be set aside in this way by a member of the executive.”

and even more tellingly

” True, [the Sections] do not have statutory force. But that does not mean they are writ in water. They contain a statement of Parliamentary intention, even though they create no enforceable rights. Approaching the matter in that way, I would read section 171 as providing that sections 108 to 117 shall come into force when the Home Secretary chooses, and not that they may come into force if he chooses. In other words, section 171 confers a power to say when, but not whether.”

Is this ringing any bells?

It should. It is very close to what happened with the statutory provisions relating to age verification for commercial pornography sites. These are enshrined in Part 3 of the Digital Economy Act 2017.

Several companies spent a lot of money getting ready for the commencement of the new policy. Everything was  in place. Then, out of the blue, so to speak, on 16th October 2019, the Government announced a halt. Not an abandonment as such but, in effect, an adjournment sine die.

Frying different fish

At the time the Government made the announcement they had one overriding political objective. To secure a General Election.

Because of the then Parliamentary arithmetic the timing of such an election was not in their gift.  In some quarters the suspicion therefore is someone in No.10 started to fret. Suppose they suddenly managed to get Parliament’s agreement to hold an election (which they did) and the new regime of age verification for commercial porn sites kicked in just before or even during the election campaign (which it might have done)?

“Boris the Porn Killer”

Could “Boris the Porn Killer” supplant “Get Brexit Done” as a key theme of the election? Very unlikely. Even so might millions of men be angry that their porn supply had been cut off or interrupted while they completed the age verification process? What if there were unseen glitches that emerged? Who would be blamed? Could it adversely affect votes in some marginal seats? Politics can be a murky business sometimes (but don’t tell anyone I said that).

Did a timid soul in the Conservative Party leadership decide it was best to take no chances. Just pull it. Utter a few warm words about  not junking the policy. Say something about wrapping it up with a wider and more ambitious initiative (which is what they did).

This is just a theory that is doing the rounds. But we may be about to find out if there is any substance to it. The trade association which represents some of the companies that spent millions getting ready are seeking a judicial review. A number of individual companies are also suing for compensation. It is understood their claims run to around £3 million. Add to that the amounts thought to have been spent by the nominated Regulator (BBFC) and the Government itself and you get to around £5 million.

If the Government has to pay up that’s a lot of money to spend on a pusillanimous and unprincipled panic.

The judicial review was discussed in this article in The Telegraph.

Tech companies launch legal action to force Government to bring in under 18s porn ban

Tech companies have launched legal action to force the Government to bring in the porn age ban. This is a move supported by children’s charities.

Four age verification companies lodged a judicial review at the High Court Thursday challenging the Culture Secretary’s decision to shelve the scheme to impose age checks on all porn sites viewed in the UK.

The Telegraph understands the companies are arguing the decision was an “abuse of power” as the move had been approved by parliament. They are also claiming damages, understood to be in the region of £3 million, for losses sustained developing age verification technology.

The age verification scheme was initially passed as part of the Digital Economy Act in December 2018 and mandated that all adult sites had to have age checks proving UK users were over 18. However, its implementation was repeatedly delayed throughout 2019.

In October, Culture Secretary Baroness Nicky Morgan announced she was suspending the age check scheme and would look to incorporate it into proposed online harms legislation that aims to create a new online regulator. The Government has said it aims to publish draft legislation this year, but it could take two to three years before the regulator is up and running.

At the time the secretary of state said she wanted to look at closing a loophole that would have allowed minors to still view pornography on social media sites.

Companies wanting age verification soon

The four companies behind the judicial review – AgeChecked Ltd, VeriMe, AVYourself and AVSecure – are arguing the secretary of state only had power to choose when the scheme came into force, not scrap it in the form passed by Parliament. 

The legal action has been backed by the Children’s Charities’ Coalition for Internet Safety (CCCIS), which represents UK children’s organisations.

John Carr OBE, secretary of the CCCIS, said: “If a judicial review is the only way of getting better protection for children then we are all in favour but it should never have come to this. Everything was in place and ready to go. Children who could have been protected from truly horrific sexual images will instead be exposed to them. That cannot be right.” 

Following the action, a spokesman for the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport spokesperson said: “We are unable to comment on any legal proceedings against the department. The Government is committed to ensuring that children are protected from accessing harmful content online.”

Damages claimed

The AV companies are claiming damages as part of the legal challenge saying they sank millions into getting the developing verification technology to the detailed standards set out by the Government’s chosen regulator, the British Board of Film Classification.

The CEO of AVSecure, Stuart Lawley, a British tech entrepreneur who made his fortune in the dotcom boom, said he had personally “lost millions” creating the technology. 

He said the company, which is behind other parental control apps such as Ageblock, had been preparing for up to 10 million people signing up for the service on day one. 

Mr Lawley told The Telegraph: “It is time for [the Government] to do the right thing. We would sooner they issue a new start date and I would drop my claims and get on with it.

“We are millions of pounds out of pocket, me personally millions, we have people who don’t have jobs anymore as a result of this.”

Escaping the Porn Epidemic

The importance of of Age Verification is illustrated in a recent video available from the ageverification.co.uk website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Share this article