مكافأة أخبار الشعار

رقم 6 Spring 2018

مرحبًا بك في إصدار Spring No. 6 من Rewarding News. لدينا الكثير من القصص والأخبار لك. ابقَ على اطلاع على آخر أخبارنا على تويتر وعلى المدونات الأسبوعية على الصفحة الرئيسية أيضًا.

تم التقاط هذه الصورة لأزهار الكرز الجميلة في ذروتها في واشنطن العاصمة مباشرة بعد القمة العالمية التي حضرناها هناك في أوائل أبريل. المثير للدهشة ، لم يكن لدينا سوى ذروة الزهرة هنا في أدنبرة قبل بضعة أيام.

كل ردود الفعل هي موضع ترحيب في ماري شارب mary@rewardfoundation.org.

في هذه الطبعة

الأحداث القادمة

تنظيم حماية البيانات عام

لا شك أنك ستتلقى ملاحظات من العديد من المنظمات التي ترتبط بها بطلب منك اختيار قاعدة بياناتها. حسنًا ، إذا كنت تريد الاستمرار في الاستماع إلى مؤسسة The Reward ، فستحتاج إلى الرد على الطلب الذي ستتلقاه منا في الأيام القليلة المقبلة. نأمل أن تفعل ذلك!

الأطباء يؤكدون ما نشتبه

لقد أجرينا أول سلسلة من ورش العمل التي نظمتها الجامعة الملكية لأربعة ورش عمل معترف بها لمدة يوم واحد حول تأثير المواد الإباحية على الصحة العقلية والجسدية في إدنبرج هذا الأسبوع. سوف يتم إجراء الثلاثة التالية في لندن ومانشستر وبرمنغهام في الأيام القليلة القادمة. حتى الآن ، أكد الأطباء الممارسون ما نشتبه - أنهم شهدوا زيادة كبيرة في عدد المرضى الذكور الذين يعانون من اختلال وظيفي جنسي مثل "تأخر القذف" (غالباً ما يكون نذيراً لضعف الانتصاب الكامل) ، و anorgasmia (عدم القدرة على الحركة) إلى النشوة الجنسية) وعدم القدرة على الانتصاب نفسه.

وقد حدث هذا فقط في السنوات القليلة الماضية ويتزامن مع انتشار على نطاق واسع من الاباحية الحرة المتشددين على الهواتف الذكية والأجهزة اللوحية. قد يكون هناك عوامل أخرى مساهمة أيضا ، ولكن أموالنا للمسبب الرئيسي هي على تأثير الاباحية الحرة تدفق الفيديو.

يدرك الأطباء أيضًا أن الفياجرا وأدوية تحسين الانتصاب المماثلة لا تعمل بشكل جيد في كثير من الحالات للتخفيف من المشكلة. والسبب في عدم نجاحها هو أن المشكلة "ليست أقل من الحزام" ، أي تدفق الدم إلى أكثر الأعضاء الذكور حيوية ، ولكنها تتعلق بتعطل الإشارات العصبية من المخ "إلى موزهم". إذا لم ترى حديث TEDx المضحك والمفيد لـ Gary Wilson "The Great Porn Experiment" في هذا الموضوع ، فاعرفه هنا.

ما يتعلمه ممارسو الرعاية الصحية من الأبحاث المتزايدة إلى دهشتهم هو ذلك الاباحية التي يسببها ضعف الانتصاب هو "شيء" ، ويختلف عن مشاكل ضعف الانتصاب المرتبطة بالرجال الأكبر سنا بكثير. هذه البند يشرح الفرق. هنا أيضا عرض على خلفية ED مع الكثير من الدعم العلمي.

يرجى الاشتراك في ورش العمل المتبقية لدينا إذا كنت متاحًا في وقت قصير أو إبلاغ زملاؤك. سنعلن عن تواريخ مستقبلية قريبًا في أواخر 2018.

كامبردج الدعوة!

وقد وجهت دعوة رئيسنا التنفيذي ماري شارب من قبل رئيس كلية لوسي كافنديش ، كامبردج ، جاكي آشلي (أيضا وصي كاتبة عمود وزوجة المذيع السياسي أندرو مار) للتحدث عن تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على دماغ المراهق يوم الخميس 7th يونيو 2018. نرى هنا لمزيد من التفاصيل. إنه حدث مجاني. تعال إذا استطعت.

اخبار

5th المؤتمر الدولي عن الإدمان السلوكي

كان من دواعي سرور The Reward Foundation أن تتحدث لأول مرة في المرموقة مؤتمر ICBA تجري في كولونيا ، ألمانيا 23-25 April. يقوم المركز الدولي لأبحاث السرطان (ICBA) بإحضار كبار علماء الأعصاب وعلماء النفس من جميع أنحاء العالم لعرض أحدث الأبحاث حول الإدمان السلوكي. أحداث TED تأكل قلبك! هذا هو المكان الذي يمكن فيه العثور على العمل المتطور الحقيقي. ألقى البروفسور ستارك محاضرة رئيسية لخصت المجال العام للبحث العلمي في تأثيرات استخدام المواد الإباحية. لقد كانت حلقة رئيسية حقيقية.

قدم Darryl Mead عمل الجمعية الخيرية حول التواصل العام لتأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت في المجتمع اليوم. وتحدث عن خطط الدروس لدينا القائمة على الأدلة في المدارس ، وورش العمل للمتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية ، والمحامين ، والموظفين العامين والمعلمين ، وعلى جعل عمل العلماء في متناول أولئك الذين يحتاجون إليها. وشمل هذا استعراضًا للأوراق العلمية حول المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت في مؤتمر ICBA الذي عُقد العام الماضي في إسرائيل.

إذا كنت مهتمًا بهذه الورقة التي استعرضها الزملاء ، فيمكننا تزويدك برابط يتيح لك تنزيل الورقة من الناشر. تسمح اتفاقية النشر فقط بتوفير عدد محدود من النسخ المجانية. نتوقع أن ننشر مراجعة جديدة تستند إلى أوراق مؤتمر 2018 في وقت لاحق من السنة في المجلة الإدمان الجنسي والاقتباس.

موجز فاحشة المواد الإباحية

إذا كنت طبيبًا أو كنت مهتمًا بطريقة أخرى بكيفية الكشف عن مدى صعوبة استخدامك للاباحية ، فقد تجد قيمة في أداة جديدة تسمى "باحث مختص في المواد الإباحية". كانت واحدة من الكنوز التي تم الكشف عنها في مؤتمر ICBA هذا العام. على مدار العام الماضي ، كنا نوصي بفحص أطول وأكثر تفصيلاً يسمى إشكالية استخدام المواد الإباحية مع أسئلة 18 ، ولكن هذه الأداة الجديدة لديها خمسة فقط. ال موجز فاحشة المواد الإباحية يبدو أن هناك طفرة كبيرة في إعطاء الممارسين العامين أداة سريعة بما فيه الكفاية لاستخدامها ضمن موعد NHS العادي.

ائتلاف لإنهاء قمة الاستغلال الجنسي ، واشنطن العاصمة

كنا سعداء لأن نكون قادرين على المشاركة في هذا المدهش القمة العالمية مع أكثر من نشطاء 600 والأكاديميين من المؤسسات الرئيسية في جميع أنحاء العالم. تم بث المحادثات مباشرة على Facebook ولا تزال متاحة على الإنترنت. يمكنك سماع البروفيسور غيل دينيس ، مؤسس شركة Culture Reframed * ، شرح الفرقبين الحركة النسوية الراديكالية والحركة النسائية الليبرالية ، كانت الأولى مناهضة للإباحية ، وكانت الأخيرة مؤيدة للإباحية.

يمكنك أيضًا الاستماع إلى قصة تموج قلبًا لوالدته التي تم إعداد ابنتها التي يبلغ عمرها عام 15 من قبل فتاة أخرى عمرها سنة 15 ، حيث تم اختطافها والإعلان عنها في نفس اليوم الذي نشر فيه 21 عامًا على موقع Backpage.com ، وهو موقع لممارسة الجنس العمال ، تم الاتجار بالكثير منهم. وقد اغتصبها عدد من الرجال قبل أن يدرك آسروها أن والدتها قد اتصلت بالشرطة وكانوا موجودين فيها. تركت العائلة تلتقط القطع مع ابنة لم تكن في أي نوع من المشاكل من قبل وكانت طالبة مدرسة جيدة. انها ظهرت باسم جين الفلاني (رقم. 3) فيلم وثائقي عن الاتجار بالبشر.

كنا مشغولين للغاية. سهّلنا اجتماعًا حول استراتيجية المواد الإباحية والصحة العامة مع المشاركين حول 50 من جميع أنحاء العالم للنظر في طرق مختلفة وتبادل الأفكار حول أفضل الممارسات. لقد جمعنا بعض المعلومات المفيدة التي وضعناها في تقرير لمنظمة NCOSE ككل. كما قدمنا ​​ورقة تعرض مقاربة جديدة للتحذيرات الصحية التي يمكن أن تظهر قبل أن يشاهد الشخص الإباحية ، مثل الكثير من التحذيرات على عبوات السجائر. المزيد عن هذا في البند التالي أدناه.

تحذير من الإباحية - "مهرجان أفلام" خاص

قام طلاب من كلية الفنون بجامعة إدنبرة بتقديم عرض خاص لمؤسسة The Reward Foundation في أبريل. كجزء من جهودنا لزيادة الوعي حول التحديات التي تواجه المجتمع اليوم مع الاستخدام الواسع النطاق للمواد الإباحية ، فقد توصلنا إلى فكرة وضع تحذير صحي في بداية جلسات إباحية ، على غرار التحذيرات الصحية على عبوات السجائر. للتقدم في هذه الفكرة ، كنا سعداء لإتاحة الفرصة لنا لمقابلة طلاب مصمم الجرافيك في كلية الفنون بجامعة إدنبرة. كانت مهمتهم إنشاء فيلم 20 30 الثاني الذي يمكن استخدامه بهذه الطريقة. لقد كان مشروعًا جزءًا من عملهم الدراسي ، وذهبوا إليه بحماس كبير.

وكانت النتائج أخذ نفسا. لقد كان شرفًا كبيرًا أن تتم دعوتنا إلى الجلوس من خلال مهرجان الأفلام الخاص بنا مع عروض 12 من هؤلاء الطلاب المبدعين للغاية. كان التنوع والتأثير هائلين. كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نظهر ستة منهم إلى أكثر من مندوبي 200 في قمة الصحة العامة حول الاستغلال الجنسي في واشنطن حيث تم استقبالهم بحرارة. وكان بعض صناع السياسة والسياسيين الحاضرين حريصين على متابعة هذا العمل.

نولان لايف

عادت ماري شارب إلى نولان لايف في BBC Northern Ireland على 7th March 2018. سينقلك الرابط إلى مقطع فيديو كامل لهذا الجزء من العرض. ناقشت ماري تأثير المواد الإباحية على الصحة العقلية والجسدية للأطفال مع المضيف ستيفن نولان ، مع ناشطة إباحية و مع مدمن إباحي متعافي.

خلايا رمادية وخلايا السجن

كما ذكر في نشرة إخبارية سابقة ، في العام الماضي تم تعيين الرئيس التنفيذي لدينا ماري شارب كمسؤول في CYCJ مقرها في جامعة ستراثكلايد في غلاسكو. وأعربت عن سعادتها لتقديم أول خطاب لها بعنوان "تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على دماغ المراهقين" في مؤتمرهم السنوي حول موضوع خلايا رمادية وخلايا السجن. حدث ذلك في نفس اليوم الذي أقيم فيه حدث Nolan Live TV في بلفاست.

تتوفر الشرائح من كل العروض التقديمية هنا ويبدأ حديث ماري في نهاية P.85. كانت فرصة رائعة للالتقاء وتبادل الأفكار مع الباحثين والممارسين الآخرين الذين يشاركون بعمق في دراسة العدالة الجنائية في اسكتلندا اليوم.

فيسبوك و يوتيوب

يسعدنا الإعلان عن صفحتنا الجديدة على فيسبوك والتي تركز على ورش العمل التي نقوم بتدريسها والفعاليات الأخرى التي نعرضها. لا تتردد في الاتصال بنا هنا.

قد تكون مهتمًا أيضًا بمجموعة صغيرة من مقاطع الفيديو التي لدينا الآن على مقاطع الفيديو الجديدة قناة يوتيوب. هناك الكثير من مقاطع الفيديو القادمة حيث لدينا الآن خطة لتحرير العديد من المقابلات التي قمنا بتسجيلها في جميع أنحاء العالم مع الخبراء.

إدمان الجنس مقابل الإدمان الاباحية ، كما تغطيها هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية

الأسبوع الماضي العلاقات الخيرية ربط طلب من NHS القيام بالمزيد للمساعدة في تحمل عبء الأشخاص الذين يطلبون المساعدة من أجل "إدمان الجنس". كان من غير المشجع أن نرى التقرير الإخباري الذي تنشره هيئة الإذاعة البريطانية وغيرها من وسائل الإعلام يركز على "الإدمان الجنسي" على هذا النحو ، وهذا هو السلوك القهري تجاه الأشخاص الآخرين ، بدلاً من المراقبة الإباحية القهرية والاستمناء. حتى أصبح الوصول السهل إلى الإباحية المتشددين متاحًا ومتوفرًا بسهولة عبر النطاق العريض 10 منذ سنوات ، كان الاستخدام الإباحي للمشكلات ضئيلاً وصُنّف في التدريب على العلاج الجنسي كـ "إدمان الجنس".
ومع ذلك ، فإن الجمع بين الإدمان الجنسي والإدمان على الإدمان اليوم لم يعد ملائما ، وليس أقلها أن العديد من المدمنين على الإدمان على الشباب اليوم عذارى. بل هو أيضا الخلط الذي يتم استغلاله على نطاق واسع من قبل علماء الجنس. اختاروا تجاهل العلم المتصاعد والإصرار لأسباب سياسية أنه لا يوجد شيء مثل الجنس أو الإدمان على الإباحية. بدلاً من ذلك ، يغيرون تركيز وسائل الإعلام على النقاش إلى المشاهير مثل هارفي وينشتاين أو تايجر وودز قائلين إنه مجرد ذريعة لسلوك سيء. ومع ذلك ، كان واضحا على الأقل من الأبحاث التي أجرتها 3 في مؤتمر ICBA أن الغالبية العظمى من الأشخاص الذين يعانون من اضطراب السلوك الجنسي القهري لديهم مشكلة في الاستخدام الإجباري للاباحية ، بدلاً من الذهاب إلى العاملين في الجنس أو ما شابه ذلك.

A إجماع من كبار العلماء في مبضع دعم الفئة التشخيصية الجديدة من '' ، والتي ستشمل كلاً من إدمان الإباحية والإدمان على الجنس ، لإدراجها في إصدار التصنيف الدولي للأمراض 11th الذي ستنشره منظمة الصحة العالمية قريبًا. عندما يتم نشر ذلك ، سيتم كشف هذا الالتباس المتعمد.

من المنطقي أن الوصول الجاهز إلى الإباحية المحفزة للغاية عبر هاتف ذكي في متناول اليد سوف يؤدي بسهولة أكبر إلى الاستخدام القهري من البحث عن شركاء في الحياة الحقيقية ومن ثم محاولة التفاعل معهم لممارسة الجنس. نحن نبذل قصارى جهدنا للمساعدة في تثقيف الصحفيين في هذا المجال.

التحقق من العمر في المملكة المتحدة

من المقرر أن يدخل هذا التشريع الجديد حيز التنفيذ في وقت لاحق من هذا العام. وظيفة بلوق ممتازة وواضحة للغاية من صديقنا جون كار يحكي قصة لماذا هذا تطور هام وإيجابي للأطفال في المملكة المتحدة.

وداع حزين

كمؤسسة خيرية لها علاقات محبّة في جوهر ما نعلّمه ، نعتقد أنه من الصواب فقط ذكر وفاة كينيث جون ودوريس آيفي ميد ، الوالدان للمؤسس المشارك لمؤسسة The Reward Foundation ، Darryl Mead. كنا سعداء للغاية للانضمام إليهم في أستراليا للاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية لزواجهما 74th في 19 فبراير من هذا العام. بعد مرور ثلاثة أسابيع فقط ، توفي كين في نومه في سن 94. توفيت Dot ، 93 ، وهي امرأة تعيش مع كين ، بهدوء في نومها يوم الخميس الماضي ، وأسابيع 8 إلى اليوم التالي بعد حبيبها. أخبرتنا أنها لا تستطيع أن تتحمل الحياة بدونه.

لقد كان امتيازًا معرفتهما كليهما ، ورأينا الرعاية المحبة والتفاني في العمل ، ولكن أيضًا استمتعنا فقط بشركتهما الجميلة الداعمة دائمًا. سنفتقد ملاحظات كين الكوميدية وتحوّل العبارة البديع ، والأناقة الهادئة والأسلوب الهادئ.

عندما سألت دوت في يوم زفافي إلى داريل في 2012 ، ما هو سر زواج طويل سعيد ، أجابت ، "لا يجادل. لا يوجد شيء يستحق النقاش حوله ". يسعدني أن أنقل كلمات الحكمة هذه من عزيزتي العزيزة التي أحبها كثيراً وأحبها كثيراً في المقابل. لا تحصل على أفضل من ذلك بكثير.

حقوق الطبع والنشر © 2018 مؤسسة المكافآت ، جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
أنت تتلقى هذا البريد الإلكتروني لأنك اخترت موقع الويب الخاص بنا www.rewardfoundation.org.
عنوان المراسلات هي:

مؤسسة المكافآت
The Melting Pot ، 5 Rose Street
ادنبره, EH2 2PR
المملكة المتحدة

أضفنا إلى دفتر العناوين الخاص بك

تريد تغيير الطريقة التي تتلقى هذه الرسائل؟
اطلع على تحديث تفضيلاتك or إلغاء الاشتراك من هذه القائمة.

التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني مدعوم من MailChimp

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

Rewarding News Logo

No. 6 Spring 2018

Welcome to the Spring No. 6 edition of Rewarding News. We’ve lots of stories and news for you. Keep up-to-date with our regular Twitter feed and the weekly blogs on the home page too.

This image of beautiful cherry blossom at its peak was taken in Washington DC just after the Global Summit we attended there in early April. Surprisingly, we only had peak blossom here in Edinburgh a few days ago.

 All feedback is welcome to Mary Sharpe mary@rewardfoundation.org.

In this edition

UPCOMING EVENTS

General Data Protection Regulation

You will no doubt have been receiving notes from many organisations that you are associated with requesting you to opt in to their database. Well, if you want to keep hearing from The Reward Foundation you will need to respond to the request you will receive from us in the next few days. We hope you will!

 

Doctors are confirming what we suspected

We ran the first of our series of four Royal College of General Practitioners-accredited, one-day workshops on the impact of internet pornography on mental and physical health in Edinburgh this week. The following three will take place in London, Manchester and Birmingham in the next few days.   So far, the GPs attending have confirmed what we suspected – that they have seen a huge increase in the number of young male patients presenting with sexual dysfunctions such as ‘delayed ejaculation’ (often a precursor to full erectile dysfunction), anorgasmia (an inability to orgasm) and erectile dysfunction itself.

This has only happened in the past few years and coincides with the widespread availability of free, hardcore porn on smartphones and tablets. There may be other contributing factors too, but our money for the main culprit is on the effect of free streaming internet porn.

The doctors are aware too that Viagra and similar erectile enhancement medications, aren’t working too well in many cases to alleviate the issue. The reason they don’t work is that the problem is “not below the belt”, i.e. blood flow to that most vital of male organs, but is rather about the disruption of nerve signalling from the brain “to their bananas”. If you haven’t seen Gary Wilson’s funny and informative TEDx talk “The Great Porn Experiment” on this, see it here.

What the healthcare practitioners are learning from the ever-increasing research, to their astonishment, is that porn-induced erectile dysfunction is ‘a thing’, and different from the erectile dysfunction issues associated with much older men. This article explains the difference. Here too is a presentation on the background to ED with lots of scientific support.

Please sign up to our remaining workshops if you’re available at short notice or let your colleagues know. We’ll be advertising future dates soon in late 2018.

Cambridge Calling!

Our CEO Mary Sharpe has been invited by the President of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge, Jackie Ashley (also a Guardian columnist and wife of political broadcaster Andrew Marr) to speak about the impact of internet pornography on the adolescent brain on Thursday 7th June 2018. See here for more details. It is a free event. Come if you can.

NEWS

5th International Conference on Behavioural Addictions

The Reward Foundation was delighted to make its debut speaking at the prestigious ICBA conference taking place in Cologne, Germany 23-25 April. The ICBA brings top neuroscientists and psychologists from around the world to showcase the latest research on behavioural addictions. TED events eat your heart out! This is the where the real cutting-edge action is to be found. Professor Stark gave a keynote talk summarising the overall field of scientific research into the effects of pornography use.  It was a true masterclass.

Darryl Mead presented the charity’s work on the public communication of the impact of internet pornography in society today. He spoke of our evidence-based lesson plans in schools, workshops for healthcare professionals, lawyers, public servants and teachers and on making the work of scientists accessible to those who need it. This included a review of the scientific papers on internet pornography at last year’s ICBA conference in Israel.

If you are interested in this peer-reviewed paper, we can give you a link that will allow you to download the paper from the publisher. The publishing agreement only allows a limited number of free copies to be made available. We expect to be publishing a new review based on the 2018 conference’s papers later in the year in the journal Sexual Addiction and Compulsivity.

Brief Pornography Screener

If you are a clinician or otherwise interested in how problematic porn use can be detected, you may find value in a new tool called the Brief Pornography Screener. It was one of the treasures revealed at this year’s ICBA conference. For the past year we have been recommending a longer, more detailed screener called the Problematic Pornography Use Scale with 18 questions, but this new tool has a mere five. The Brief Pornography Screener looks to be a significant breakthrough in giving General Practitioners a tool that is quick enough for use within a normal NHS appointment.

Coalition to End Sexual Exploitation Summit, Washington DC

We were delighted to be able to participate in this amazing Global Summit with over 600 activists and academics from key institutions around the world. Talks were streamed live on Facebook and are still available online. You can hear Professor Gail Dines, founder of Culture Reframed*, explain the differencebetween radical feminism and liberal feminism, the former being anti-porn, the latter being pro-porn.

You can also listen to the heart rending story of a mother whose 15-year-old daughter was groomed by another 15 year old girl, kidnapped and advertised the same day as a 21-year-old on Backpage.com, a site for sex workers, many of whom had been trafficked. She was raped by several men before her captors realised her mother had contacted the Police and were on to them. The family was left picking up the pieces along with a daughter who’d never been in any kind of trouble before and had been a good school student. She featured as Jane Doe (no. 3) a documentary film about human trafficking.

We were kept busy too. We facilitated a meeting on Pornography & Public Health Strategy with around 50 participants from around the world to look at different approaches and share ideas on best practice. We gathered some useful information that we have put into a report for the NCOSE organisation as a whole. We also gave a paper showcasing a novel approach to health warnings that can be shown before a person watches porn, much like the warnings on cigarette packets. More on this in the next item below.

 

Porn Warning – A Private “Film Festival” 

Students from the University of Edinburgh’s College of Art put on a special show for The Reward Foundation in April. As part of our efforts to raise awareness about the challenges hitting society today with the widespread use of pornography, we have come up with the idea of putting a health warning at the start of porn sessions, similar to the health warnings on cigarette packets. To progress this idea, we were delighted to have the opportunity to meet with graphic designer students at the University of Edinburgh’s College of Art. Their mission was to create a 20 to 30 second film that could be used in this way. It was a project that was part of their course work and they went it at with great enthusiasm.

The results were breath taking. It was such an honour to be invited to sit through our very own private film festival with 12 presentations from these highly creative students. The diversity and impact was tremendous. We were delighted to then show the six of them to more than 200 delegates at the public health summit on sexual exploitation in Washington where they were warmly received. Some of the policy makers and politicians present were keen to follow up on this work.

 

Nolan Live

Mary Sharpe returned to Nolan Live at BBC Northern Ireland on 7th March 2018.  The link will take you to a full video of this segment of the show. Mary debated the impact of pornography on the mental and physical health of children with the host Stephen Nolan, with a porn activist and with a recovering porn addict.

 

Grey Cells and Prison Cells

As mentioned in a previous newsletter, last year our CEO Mary Sharpe was appointed as an associate of the CYCJ based at the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. She was delighted to offer her maiden speech on “The Impact of Internet Pornography on the Adolescent Brain” at their annual conference on the theme of Grey Cells and Prison Cells. This took place the same day as the Nolan Live TV event in Belfast.

The slides from all the presentations are available here and Mary’s talk starts at P.85-end.  It was a great opportunity to meet and share ideas with other researchers and practitioners who are deeply involved with the study of criminal justice in Scotland today.

 

Facebook and Youtube

We are pleased to announce our new Facebook page which focuses on the workshops we are teaching and the other events where we feature. Feel free to link to us here.

You may also be interested in the small selection of videos we now have on our new YouTube channel. There are plenty more videos to come as we now have a plan for editing the many interviews we have been recording around the world with experts.

 

Sex Addiction-vs-Porn Addiction, as covered by BBC

Last week relationships charity Relate called out for the NHS to do more to help with the burden of people seeking help for “sex addiction”. It was discouraging to see the news report by the BBC and other media outlets focus on ‘sex addiction’ as such, that is compulsive behaviour towards other persons, rather than compulsive porn watching and masturbation. Until easy access to hardcore porn became available free and readily available via broadband some 10 years ago, problematic porn use was minimal and categorised in sex therapy training as ‘sex addiction’.
However combining sex addiction and porn addiction today is no longer appropriate, not least as many young porn addicts today are virgins.  It is also a confusion that is widely exploited by sexologists. They choose to ignore the mounting science and insist for political reasons that there is no such thing as sex or porn addiction. Instead they shift the media’s focus of discussion to celebrities like Harvey Weinstein or Tiger Woods saying that it is just a rich man’s excuse for bad behaviour. Yet it was clear from at least 3 research papers at the ICBA conference that the vast majority of people with compulsive sexual behaviour disorder have a problem with compulsive use of porn, rather than going to sex workers or the like.

consensus of leading scholars in the Lancet support the new diagnostic category of ‘compulsive sexual behaviour disorder’, that will include both porn addiction and sex addiction, for inclusion in the World Health Organization’s soon-to-be-published International Classification of Diseases 11th edition.  When that is published, this deliberate confusion will be unravelled.

It stands to reason that the ready access to highly stimulating porn via a smartphone in the hand is going to lead more easily to compulsive use than the seeking out of partners in real life and then trying to engage with them for sex. We are doing our best to help educate journalists in this area.

 

UK Age Verification

This new legislation is due to come into effect later this year.  An excellent and very clear blog post from our friend John Carr tells the story of why this is an important and positive development for children in the UK.

 

A Sad Farewell

As a charity that has loving relationships at the core of what we teach, we think it only right to mention the passing away of Kenneth John and Doris Ivy Mead, the parents of The Reward Foundation’s co-founder, Darryl Mead. We were very happy to have joined them in Australia to celebrate their 74th wedding anniversary on 19 February this year. Only three weeks later however, Ken passed away in his sleep at the tender age of 94 years. Dot, 93, a woman who lived for Ken, passed away quietly in her sleep this past Thursday, 8 weeks to the day after her beloved. She told us she couldn’t bear life without him.

It has been a privilege knowing them both, seeing loving care and devotion in action but also just enjoying their lovely, always supportive, company. We’ll miss Ken’s comical observations and witty turn of phrase, and Dot’s quiet elegance and style.

When I asked Dot on the day of my wedding to Darryl in 2012, what was the secret of a long happy marriage, she replied, “Never argue. There’s nothing worth arguing about”. I am happy to pass on those words of wisdom from a dear mother-in-law who loved very much and was loved very much in return. It doesn’t get much better than that.

 

Copyright © 2018 The Reward Foundation, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you opted in at our website www.rewardfoundation.org.
Our mailing address is:

The Reward Foundation
The Melting Pot, 5 Rose Street
EdinburghEH2 2PR
United Kingdom

Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp

Print Friendly, PDF & Email