رقم 2 Summer 2017

أهلا بك

آمل أن تستمتع بالصيف. كان موظفو TRF مشغولين بالتحضير للموسم الجديد في المستقبل مع بدء الدروس المدرسية في 1st September ، والمحادثات للأطباء العامين وورش العمل. لقد كنا نكتب أوراقًا ، ونتقدم بطلب التمويل ، ونلتقي بمجموعة من الأشخاص في الحكومة ، والسلطات المحلية ، والجمعيات الخيرية ، وفي وسائل الإعلام الذين قد يكونون قادرين على المساعدة في المضي قدمًا بعملنا. سنبقيك على اطلاع عند تطور هذه الاتصالات.

كل ردود الفعل هي موضع ترحيب في ماري شارب mary@rewardfoundation.org.

في هذه الطبعة

منع إساءة معاملة الأطفال في ألمانيا والمملكة المتحدة


في يوم 28th ، نظمت TRF حدثًا تدريبيًا لمدة يوم واحد من قبل NOTA (المنظمة الوطنية لمعاملة المسيئين في اسكتلندا) مع المتحدثين الممتازين لـ 2. أولا كان البروفسور كلاوس بيير (في الصورة) ، وهو خبير دولي رائد في مجال الوقاية من الاعتداء الجنسي على الأطفال ومهندس المعماري مشروع منع Dunkelfeld في ألمانيا. أما الثانية فهي البروفيسور كيران مكارتان ، وهو متخصص في علم الجريمة في جامعة بريستول ، حيث قام باستكشاف الاستجابات الحالية والمستقبلية المحتملة للعمل مع الجناة الجنسيين في المملكة المتحدة في ضوء الدروس المستفادة من مشروع دنكلفيلد. انظر قصتنا هنا.

منع المراهق السلوك الجنسي الضار

ماري شارب ، الرئيس التنفيذي لدينا ، شاركت في تأليف "قطعة تفكير" حول منع السلوك الجنسي الضار للمراهقين ملاحظةالمنظمة الوطنية لمعاملة المسيئين. NOTA هي مؤسسة خيرية تقدم الدعم للمحترفين الذين يتعاملون مع المخالفين للقانون الجنسي. في هذا التحليل للأبحاث الحديثة ، انضمت ماري إلى فريق عمل على مستوى المملكة المتحدة بقيادة ستوارت ألارديس ، المدير الوطني لمؤسسة Stop It Now! اسكتلندا. يمكنك رؤية قصة حول هذا هنا.

البحث: التركيز الصحي

يتم استدعاء العنصر الذي اخترته لهذه الرسالة الإخبارية أثر المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على الأطفال. كتب من قبل الكلية الأمريكية لأطباء الأطفال كبيان للسياسة وتواريخ من يونيو 2016.

ملخص: أصبح توافر واستخدام المواد الإباحية في كل مكان تقريبا بين البالغين والمراهقين. ويرتبط استهلاك المواد الإباحية بالعديد من النتائج السلبية العاطفية والنفسية والصحية البدنية. وتشمل هذه زيادة معدلات الاكتئاب والقلق والتصرف والسلوك العنيف ، والعمر الأصغر في الظهور الجنسي والجنس الجنسي ، وزيادة خطر الحمل في سن المراهقة ، ومشوهة للعلاقات بين الرجال والنساء. بالنسبة للبالغين ، يؤدي التصوير الإباحي إلى زيادة احتمال الطلاق الذي يضر أيضًا بالأطفال. تحث الكلية الأمريكية لأطباء الأطفال المتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية على نقل مخاطر استخدام المواد الإباحية للمرضى وعائلاتهم وتوفير الموارد لحماية الأطفال من مشاهدة المواد الإباحية ومعاملة الأفراد الذين يعانون من آثاره السلبية.

توصية كتاب

أود أن أوصي كتابا للآباء والمدرسين والمهنيين. رجل ، مقاطعة - لماذا الشباب يكافحون وما يمكننا القيام به حيال ذلك هو من قبل أستاذ علم النفس ستانفورد فيليب زيمباردو ونيكيتا كولومبي. وهو يعتمد على حديث TED للبروفيسور زيمبارد الممتاز TED وفاة الرجال الذي كان الشريك يتحدث إلى حديث زميلنا جاري ويلسون عن حديث TEDx التجربة الإباحية الكبرى.

إن مقدمة الكتاب هي أننا نواجه عالما جديدا غير شجاع. عالم يتخلف فيه الشباب وراءهم. يقول المؤلفان إن الإدمان على ألعاب الفيديو والإباحية على الإنترنت قد خلق جيلًا من الشباب الخجولين والمحببين اجتماعيًا ، والذين أزالوا عاطفياً ، والذين يعانون من المخاطر ، غير القادرين (وغير الراغبين) على التنقل بين التعقيدات والمخاطر الكامنة في العلاقات الحقيقية والمدرسة والعمل. بإلقاء نظرة انتقادية على مشكلة تمزق العائلات والمجتمعات في كل مكان ، رجل ، توقف تشير إلى أن شبابنا يعانون من شكل جديد من الإدمان الاستثنائي. يقدم خطة جديدة جريئة لإعادة الحصول على المسار الصحيح.

تقدم الفصول الختامية مجموعة من الحلول التي يمكن أن تتأثر بشرائح مختلفة من المجتمع بما في ذلك المدارس والآباء والشباب أنفسهم. مليئة بالحكايات الحكيمة ، ونتائج البحوث الرائعة ، والتحليل الإدراكي ، والاقتراحات الملموسة من أجل التغيير ، مان ، توقف هو كتاب في عصرنا. إنه كتاب يطلع على التحديات ويثيرها في نهاية المطاف.

مقابلات

خلال الشهرين الماضيين ، أجرينا مقابلات مع أربعة خبراء آخرين.

في شهر يونيو ، أجرينا مقابلة مع كينيث كلوجي ، أحد أدنبرة محام قانون جنائي شرح الإجراء الذي قد يواجهه الوالد والطفل في حالة اتهامهما بجريمة جنسية. لقد شهد ارتفاعًا في الجرائم المتعلقة بالانتهاك عبر الإنترنت. ستظهر مقابلته على موقع الويب في الوقت المناسب.

أثناء زيارتنا إلى أستراليا في يوليو ، أجرينا مقابلة دقيقة مع 45 مع ليز ووكر ، إحدى الشركات الرائدة مرشد الجنس. تعرض ليز لأول مرة إلى المواد الإباحية المتطرفة في حافلة المدرسة التي يبلغ عمرها سن 6 فقط. لها قصة يجعل قراءة جيدة. وهي الآن تعمل أيضا مع الناشطة المناهضة للإباحية البروفيسور غيل دينيس في ثقافة Reframed.

الدكتورة باولا بانكا (في الصورة أدناه) ، أ باحث علم الأعصاب من جامعة كامبردج قدمت رؤى مفيدة في ورقة البحث التي نشرتها الجدة والتكيف والتحيز المتعمد للمكافآت الجنسية. تم الاعتراف بهذا البحث الممتاز عندما فاز بجائزة 2016 Research من جمعية النهوض بالصحة الجنسية.

بالعودة إلى اسكتلندا ، أجرينا مقابلة أولية مع آن شيلتون ، رئيس الممارسة المهنية للاستشارة مع العلاقات اسكتلندا لمعرفة المزيد عن عملية تدريب المعالجين الجنسيين في اسكتلندا. وقالت إنه كان هناك حول محترفي 30 الذين تدربوا الآن للتعامل مع الأزواج والارتفاع في مشاكل الصحة الجنسية المرتبطة بالإباحية. لقد استاءت من ضعف المساعدة المالية التي تقدمها الحكومة الاسكتلندية لهذه المشكلة المتنامية.

مؤسسة المكافآت في المدارس

سوف يتم تسليم TRF الطبقات للتلاميذ في أكاديمية أدنبرة ، ومدرسة جورج واتسون وسانت كولومبا كيلماكولم حول تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على الصحة والعلاقات والإجرام والعلاقات التي تبدأ في سبتمبر 1st. سوف نتحدث أيضا الآباء والتلاميذ في مهرجان جورج واتسون للأفكار في أيلول / سبتمبر وإلى الآباء من التلاميذ في مدرسة تونبريدج ، إنجلترا في أكتوبر أيضًا.

الأطباء في ادنبره

على 13th أكتوبر نحن نقدم محاضرة لل جمعية الطب الجراح - Chlorurgical of Edinburghحول تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على صحة المراهقين. هذه الجمعية تناقش المسائل الطبية منذ 1821.

اسمعونا نتحدث في ادنبره

تعال وانضم إلينا في 16th November in the Sanctuary of the Augustine United Church، 41 George IV Bridge، Edinburgh، EH1 1EL when our CEO CEO Mary Sharpe will be the main speaker as part of the مركز إدنبره الدولي للروحانية والسلام. ستتحدث عن "الروحانية والرحمة والإدمان". وسيتبع ذلك حلقة نقاش مع خبراء آخرين بما في ذلك الوالد ونائب رئيس المدرسين أودري فيرجيريف ، جنبا إلى جنب مع داعية وناشط صحي ، دوجلاس جيست. سيتم تقديم المتحدثين من قبل داريل ميد ، رئيس مؤسسة المكافآت.

مؤتمر في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

سنقوم بتسليم ورشة عمل لمجموعة من المتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية ، والمربين والمحامين في المؤتمر السنوي لل جمعية النهوض بالصحة الجنسية في سولت لايك سيتي في 5-7 October. العنوان هذا العام هو الصحة الجنسية في عالم رقمي.


مؤتمر عائلي في كرواتيا

في شهر أكتوبر 21st ، سنتحدث في المؤتمر السنوي مؤتمر عائلي في زغرب ، كرواتيا بعنوان "الأسرة ، المدارس: مفتاح الحرية من الإدمان". سوف تبدأ مساهمتنا بمحاضرة رسمية في الصباح وسنقود ورشة عمل في وقت لاحق من اليوم.

خط مجرى جديد لمؤسسة المكافآت

لقد تغيرنا مؤخرًا من "دماغنا في الحب والجنس" بعد "مؤسسة المكافآت" إلى "الحب والجنس والإنترنت". والفكرة هي تحويل التركيز إلى الإنترنت دون ذكر كلمة "إباحية". لا نزال نركز على التدريس حول نظام المكافأة في الدماغ. وجد بعض الناس أن كلمة "دماغ" خارجة قليلاً ، مؤمنًا بأن المعرفة الموجودة مسبقًا في الطب أو علم الأعصاب كانت مطلوبة لقراءة موادنا. ليست هذه هي القضية.

حقوق الطبع والنشر © 2018 مؤسسة المكافآت ، جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
أنت تتلقى هذا البريد الإلكتروني لأنك اخترت موقع الويب الخاص بنا www.rewardfoundation.org.عنوان المراسلات هي:

مؤسسة المكافآت

5 روز شارع

ادنبره, EH2 2PR

المملكة المتحدة

أضفنا إلى دفتر العناوين الخاص بك

تريد تغيير الطريقة التي تتلقى هذه الرسائل؟
اطلع على تحديث تفضيلاتك or إلغاء الاشتراك من هذه القائمة

التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني مدعوم من MailChimp

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

No. 2 Summer 2017

WELCOME

Hope you’re enjoying the summer. TRF staff has been busy preparing for the new season ahead with school lessons starting on 1st September, talks for GPs and workshops. We have been writing papers, applying for funding and meeting a range of people in government, local authorities, in charities and in the media who may be able to help take our work forward. We’ll keep you informed as those contacts develop.

All feedback is welcome to Mary Sharpe mary@rewardfoundation.org.

In this edition

Child abuse prevention in Germany and UK


On 28th July TRF attended a one-day training event by NOTA (National Organisation for the Treatment of Abusers Scotland) with 2 excellent speakers. First was Professor Klaus Beier (pictured), a leading international expert on child sexual abuse prevention and the architect of the Dunkelfeld Prevention Project in Germany. The second was Professor Kieran McCartan, a criminologist at Bristol University who explored the current and potential future responses to work with sexual offenders in the UK in light of the lessons from the Dunkelfeld project. See our story here.

Preventing adolescent harmful sexual behaviour

Mary Sharpe, our Chief Executive Officer was a co-author of a ‘think piece’ on Preventing Adolescent Harmful Sexual Behaviour for NOTA, the National Organisation for the Treatment of Abusers. NOTA is a charity that provides support for professionals dealing with sexual offenders. In this analysis of recent research, Mary joined a UK-wide a team led by Stuart Allardyce, the National Manager of Stop It Now! Scotland.  You can see a story on this here.

Research: Health focus

The item I’ve selected for this newsletter is called The Impact of Internet Pornography on Children. It was written by the American College of Pediatricians as a policy statement and dates from June 2016.

ABSTRACT:  The availability and use of pornography has become almost ubiquitous among adults and adolescents.  Consumption of pornography is associated with many negative emotional, psychological, and physical health outcomes.  These include increased rates of depression, anxiety, acting out and violent behavior, younger age of sexual debut, sexual promiscuity, increased risk of teen pregnancy, and a distorted view of relationships between men and women.  For adults, pornography results in an increased likelihood of divorce which is also harmful to children.  The American College of Pediatricians urges healthcare professionals to communicate the risks of pornography use to patients and their families and to offer resources both to protect children from viewing pornography and to treat individuals suffering from its negative effects.

Book recommendation

I would like to recommend a book for parents, teachers and professionals. Man, Interrupted – Why Young Men Are Struggling & What We Can Do About It is by Stanford Psychology Professor Philip Zimbardo and Nikita Coulombe. It builds on Professor Zimbardo’s excellent 4 minute TED talk The Demise of Guys which was the partner talk to our colleague Gary Wilson’s popular TEDx talk The Great Porn Experiment.

The premise of the book is that we are facing a not-so-brave new world; a world in which young men are getting left behind. The authors say that an addiction to video games and online porn have created a generation of shy, socially awkward, emotionally removed, and risk-adverse young men who are unable (and unwilling) to navigate the complexities and risks inherent to real-life relationships, school, and employment. Taking a critical look at a problem that is tearing at families and societies everywhere, Man, Interrupted suggests that our young men are suffering from a new form of arousal addiction. It introduces a bold new plan for getting them back on track.

The concluding chapters offer a set of solutions that can be affected by different segments of society including schools, parents, and young men themselves. Filled with telling anecdotes, results of fascinating research, perceptive analysis, and concrete suggestions for change, Man, Interrupted is a book for our time. It is a book that informs, challenges, and ultimately inspires.

Interviews

Over the past two months we have interviewed four more experts.

In June we interviewed Kenneth Cloggie, an Edinburgh criminal law solicitor explaining the procedure that a parent and child might face if charged with a sexual offence. He has seen a rise in offences related to internet offending. His interview will appear on the website in due course.

While visiting Australia in July we did a 45 minute interview with Liz Walker, a leading sex educator. Liz was first exposed to extreme pornography on the school bus aged just 6 years of age. Her story makes good reading. She now also works with anti-porn campaigner Professor Gail Dines at Culture Reframed.

Dr Paula Banca (pictured below), a neuroscience researcher from the University of Cambridge provided useful insights into the research paper she published on Novelty, conditioning and attentional bias to sexual rewards. This excellent research was recognised when it won the 2016 Research Award from the Society for the Advancement of Sexual Health.

Back in Scotland, we did a preliminary interview with Anne Chilton, head of Professional Practice for Counselling with Relationships Scotland to learn about the training process for sex therapists in Scotland. She said there were around 30 professionals now trained to deal with couples and the rise in porn-related sexual health problems. She was dismayed at how little financial help there is from the Scottish Government for this growing problem.

Reward Foundation in schools

TRF will be delivering classes to pupils at Edinburgh Academy, George Watson’s and St. Columba’s Kilmacolm schools on the impact of internet pornography on health, relationships, criminality and relationships starting 1st September. We will also be speaking to parents and pupils at George Watson’s Festival of Ideas in September and to parents of pupils at Tonbridge School, England in October too.

Doctors in Edinburgh

On 13th October we are giving a lecture to the Medico-Chirurgical Society of Edinburghabout the impact of internet pornography on adolescent health. This Society has been debating medical matters since 1821.

Hear us speaking in Edinburgh

Come and join us on 16th November in the Sanctuary of the Augustine United Church, 41 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh, EH1 1EL when our CEO Mary Sharpe will be the main speaker as part of the Edinburgh International Centre for Spirituality and Peace. She will talk on “Spirituality, Compassion and Addiction”. This will be followed by a panel discussion with other experts including parent and deputy head teacher Audrey Fairgrieve, along with dad and health campaigner, Douglas Guest. Speakers will be introduced by Darryl Mead, the Reward Foundation’s Chair.

Conference in USA

We will be delivering a workshop to a range of healthcare professionals, educators and lawyers at the annual conference of the Society for the Advancement of Sexual Health in Salt Lake City on 5-7 October. The title this year is Sexual Health in a Digital World.


Family conference in Croatia

On 21st October we will be speaking at the annual family conference in Zagreb, Croatia entitled  “Family, Schools: The Key to Freedom from Addiction”. Our contribution will begin with a formal lecture in the morning and we will lead a workshop later in the day.

New strapline for the Reward Foundation

We have recently changed from “our brain on love and sex” after The Reward Foundation, to “love, sex and the internet”. The idea is to shift the emphasis to the internet without mentioning the word “porn”. We are still focused on teaching about the reward system of the brain. Some people found that the word “brain” a bit off putting, believing pre-existing knowledge of medicine or neuroscience was required to read our material. This is not the case.

Copyright © 2018 The Reward Foundation, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you opted in at our website www.rewardfoundation.org.Our mailing address is:

The Reward Foundation

5 Rose Street

EdinburghEH2 2PR

United Kingdom

Add us to your address book

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp

Print Friendly, PDF & Email